Southeast Partnership now accepting proposals for community projects

Southeast Partnership now accepting proposals for community projects

ROCHESTER, Minn. (1/5/2024)—Southeast Minnesota residents with an idea to strengthen  sustainability in their community can now apply for partnership support from the University of  Minnesota Extension Southeast Regional Sustainable Development Partnership (Southeast  RSDP). 

Southeast RSDP supports local innovation by connecting community ideas to University of  Minnesota resources. Community members work on diverse project teams that research, design  and plan local sustainability projects with University students, faculty and staff. 

Southeast RSDP has several resource opportunities to support community-university  partnerships. Residents and organizations are encouraged to submit their sustainability  project ideas through the RSDP idea brief application. This annual call for ideas has  supported hundreds of sustainability projects in the Southeast region for over twenty-five  years. RSDP is also seeking applications from local farmers interested in building a deep  winter greenhouse using the latest University researched design. Additionally, RSDP is  launching a new program, “Empowering Small Minnesota Communities,” to help small  Minnesota communities benefit from federal, state and local investments. This program is  seeking applications from communities interested in collaborating with the University to  advance or plan projects that support sustainable economic, social, or transportation  infrastructure. 

“We are seeking ideas and expertise from Southeast Minnesota residents that help to shape  resilient communities where all people have the opportunity to thrive,” said Southeast RSDP  Executive Director Andi Sutton. “I encourage people to get in touch with me to talk about their  ideas for making our communities more sustainable places.” 

Applications for all resources are being accepted through February 14. Visit the link to read more about the programs and to apply. Community  members are encouraged to contact Sutton directly at or 857-928-4196 to  discuss their ideas and ask questions. Successful projects are selected by the Southeast RSDP  community-university governing board through a competitive process. 

The Southeast RSDP serves Blue Earth, Faribault, Dodge, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston,  LeSueur, Mower, Nicollet, Olmsted, Fillmore, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca and Winona  counties and the sovereign Native Nation of Prairie Island Indian Community.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.